PEOPLE ARE TALKING

Testimonials

Doug’s unparalleled service and results is manifest by the client testimonials he receives., Click below to see what buyers, sellers, and developers have said about working with Doug over the years.

2021-06-29T16:22:45+00:00

Liz M.  – Buyer

From the moment we met Doug, we knew we wanted him to be our realtor. Doug was recommended to us by a friend who had worked with him multiple times and has had many of her friends work with him as well. We interviewed four other agents and Doug stood out the most by far!

Doug has all the qualities you need in a realtor. He is punctual, thorough, receptive and honest. He made the process of buying a house so much easier and less stressful.

We always felt as though he had our best interests in mind. He recognized and appreciated our needs very early on in the process and was able to guide us as well as support us through the difficulties of a competitive market.

Doug also was able to recommend multiple other resources including financial, title, etc. This streamlined the process and gave us an edge in the market.

Doug is also friendly and communicates well with other agents and sellers. This is extremely important, especially when we were up against so many other buyers. He can be persuasive and efficient without being overbearing or pushy like many other agents we have met.

On a personal note, Doug was someone we could also talk and laugh with. It wasn’t always just “business.” He is a family man and he understands the importance of relationships and the appropriate work-life balance and we appreciated that.

We look forward to keeping in touch with Doug as we settle into our new home and when it comes time to buy again, we look forward to working with him again!

Liz M.

2021-06-29T16:21:38+00:00

Davina F. – Buyer and Seller

There’s a certain peacefulness that comes with knowing that you have someone who is looking out for your interests, checks in with you regularly, responds to your requests, and helps reassure you when you go off the path of your checklist. That’s why I was so happy that I selected Doug Richards as my real estate agent. He has an overall great demeanor, is easy to work with, not at all the pushy type, and willing to assist you every step of the way. I’ve worked with Doug on three house-related transactions now, two buying and one selling, and couldn’t have been luckier to have worked with him. He definitely has your back when it comes to ensuring that the home-buying and selling experience is satisfying and successful. I highly recommend him as a real estate agent!

Davina F.

2021-06-29T16:20:30+00:00

Cameron C.  – Buyer

Doug Richards did a tremendous job for my wife and me recently when we purchased a home in DC. Doug is professional, responsive, highly skilled, and experienced in all aspects of buying and selling homes, and is an absolute delight to work with. My wife and I used Doug five years ago when we purchased a home in Alexandria, VA. He exceeded our expectations both times. We would highly recommend Doug Richards for all of your real estate needs.

Cameron C.

2021-06-29T16:19:34+00:00

Anonymous 2  – Seller

Doug and his team are excellent. He worked with us to get our house on the market quickly and effectively with multiple requested scheduled move-ups on our (seller) end. He was always responsive to our needs and provides an excellent level or customer service with a clear knowledge of the latest market trends. Doug really knows his stuff, and it showed in our listing and home selling experience. Highly recommended for a knowledgeable and straightforward approach to the home selling process.

2021-06-29T16:18:39+00:00

Kim P.  – Seller

My wife, Kim, and I are so appreciative of the outstanding service we received from Doug Richards in getting our home sold here in Alexandria, Virginia. We couldn’t have asked or hoped for any better outcome when we started the process. Doug Richards is absolutely the best here in DC. His composed professionalism made our transition as stress-free as possible. He kept us constantly aware of what was happening throughout the entire process. We absolutely recommend Doug to anyone who has any real estate needs . . . you cannot do any better anywhere!

Kim P.

2021-06-29T16:17:55+00:00

Kolleen L. – Buyer and Seller

I worked with Doug on three separate occasions. When he was part of another org. I purchased my first home, which was a new build, with Doug. He was extremely informative, readily available, and walked us through the process as new homebuyers.

When it came time to sell, we again used Doug. He was knowledgeable, efficient, and quick. Our home sold at a very competitive price, and I have to thank Doug for his guidance through navigating each step.

When I found myself back on the market to purchase a home, this is where I learned just how valuable having Doug as a partner came into play. Buying a new build and selling that (still) new home in a hot market was easy to navigate, but where Doug truly helped was where I needed an expert Realtor’s advice. Should I buy a townhome or a single-family home? What location should I be targeting? What should I be okay with having in or taking out of negotiations when putting in an offer? Doug let us know what we should flex on and what we shouldn’t. He was protective of us as buyers, which really set him apart from the rest. He is professional, courteous, not pushy, available at all times, and has such an amazing services approach. He is a true partner and advisor and I couldn’t recommend him enough!

Kolleen L.

2021-06-29T18:55:57+00:00

Chris M.  – Seller

We recently hired Doug to sell our townhome in Potomac Yard, Alexandria. With his in-depth knowledge of the community and the marketplace, he was able to sell our home quickly. Doug helped us navigate the market even during the pandemic and made sure that all potential buyers, inspectors, agents, etc were mindful of our health and well-being. This was something that was very important to us. If you’re needing an agent that is highly communicative, keen to solve problems quickly, and really knows the DC/Northern VA marketplace, Doug is your agent!

Chris M.

2021-06-29T16:15:36+00:00

Bonnie F. – Buyer and Seller

I had an incredible experience working with Doug – from advising us on the state of the market, to helping us find the right time to put our property on the market and recommending steps to take to prepare the property best for sale, to flawlessly executing on our open houses, and then finally getting us through to sale, he was terrific. Doug is always available, always responsive, and truly values his clients and the real estate experience for them. We highly recommend him, and would work with him again in a minute!

Bonnie F.

2021-06-29T18:57:06+00:00

Kate I. – Buyer and Seller

I don’t typically submit online reviews, but I absolutely had to do so for Doug. Buying and selling real estate can be extremely stressful, even for experienced buyers/sellers, but Doug made the entire process, from beginning to end, as seamless and easy as possible for my husband and me. We have both had some really bad realtors in the past, so we know firsthand that there is a wide range of purported professionals out there ready to help you buy or sell your property. We can both say that without a doubt,

Doug has been the best we’ve used. He went above and beyond the call of duty to get both of our properties sold in under two weeks (one of them even before the open house – and above our asking price), which well exceeded our expectations. He was proactive, responsive, and extremely knowledgeable, not to mention easy and fun to work with. The best thing about Doug is his communication style – he was always there for us by phone or in person, always ready to answer whatever question we had. I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a reliable and knowledgeable realtor who will go the extra mile for you to help you through the buying or selling process.

Kate I.

2021-06-29T18:58:10+00:00

Julia M. – Buyer and Seller

Doug has helped me to sell and buy our homes and it was an incredible experience working with him in the last 5 years! His great knowledge of the DMV area, customer service, can “do” attitude, going above and beyond for his clients, plus helping through every step of the way moving in or moving out made it so much easier for me while going through these transactions! Highly recommend Doug as he will make your selling or buying experience truly five stars!

Julia M.

2021-06-29T16:12:27+00:00

Dean R. – Buyer and Seller

Doug was great to work with, he is knowledgeable and makes excellent recommendations to maximize sale potential. He is honest and very patient. I would give Doug my strongest recommendation and highest rating.

Dean R.

2021-06-29T16:07:33+00:00

Rob F. – Developer

Doug was extremely professional, very diligent about follow up with me and potential purchasers, and was always available for me. I was very impressed with the work he did up front prior to pricing my home and how hard he worked to get my house sold. I would use him again if the opportunity presented itself.

Rob Fisher, Founder, Fisher Custom Homes

2021-06-29T13:12:24+00:00

Chris S.  – Seller

We recently hired Doug to sell our townhome in located Potomac Yard, Alexandria. His in-depth knowledge of the community and the marketplace, he was able to sell our home quickly. Doug helped us navigate the market even during the pandemic and made sure that all potential buyers, inspectors, agents, etc were mindful of our health and well-being. This was something that was very important to us. If you’re needing an agent that is highly communicative, keen to solve problems quickly, and really knows the DC/Northern VA marketplace, Doug is your agent!

Chris S.

2021-06-29T16:08:51+00:00

Tim O.  – Buyer

Doug was very knowledgeable and had great knowledge of the market. He gave a very thorough analysis of the comps in the building and in the surrounding area. He was very responsive to my questions and kept me up to date on all traffic we had. All paperwork was discussed prior to signing and there were no surprises in the closing process.

Tim O.

2021-06-29T12:58:31+00:00

Michele C.  – Buyer

Doug Richards did a tremendous job for us recently when we purchased a home in DC. He is professional, responsive, highly skilled at all aspects of buying and selling homes, and was an absolute delight to work with during the entire process. We also used Doug five years ago when we purchased a home in Alexandria, VA. He exceeded our expectations then, too. We highly recommend Doug Richards for all your real estate needs!

Michele C.

2021-06-29T16:09:30+00:00

Lawrence N.  – Buyer

If you are looking for a knowledgeable, professional and responsive agent look no further. Doug is never more than a text message away and always has incredibly insightful recommendations to help you make the best decisions for your family. Doug helped put me in a home we love, advised on possible upgrades and was kind enough to dissuade us from making a move a few years later that would have made him money but cost my family in the long run. I really can’t thank or recommend him enough. CALL THIS GUY!!!!

Lawrence N.

2021-06-29T12:56:03+00:00

Alex K. – Buyer

My wife and I met Doug while he was a sales agent working with a national property development company, in a development where we eventually purchased our first home. Doug initially showed us a property that we were highly interested in. However, due to a tight closing timeline, we were unable to move forward with the purchase. About 6 weeks later, Doug proactively contacted us, informing us that an similar property had just come on line. Luckily for us, that property had even better features, and Doug negotiated hard on our behalf to secure the lowest possible purchase price for us. During the entire process, Doug was always “on our side”, and available, for every step: from financing advice and support; to construction visits; feature selection; and the closing phase. As first time home buyers, it felt reassuring to have such a hardworking and caring, agent on our side. Doug is a consummate professional and a joy to work with. He is knowledgeable, firm, responsive, and friendly. Highly recommended.

Alex K.

2021-06-29T19:00:23+00:00

Scot N.- Buyer

My wife and I would give only the highest remarks concerning Doug Richards. We purchased a condo from Pulte and Doug was the Sales Manager we worked with. Throughout the process, Doug showed excellent knowledge of the project and of the area. He was very helpful as well as very honest. He always followed through on questions and concerns we may have had.

Once we decided to build/buy with Pulte, Doug did not disappear. He continued to be our advocate. When we had a few serious issues during the construction process Doug was there to proactively represent us. He came up with alternatives that made sense and worked hard to resolve our issues. Once we completed the purchase Doug stayed proactive and worked to assist us to get issues resolved. Doug went out of his way to raise concerns with the Condo Board when appropriate or to push back on Pulte. Never once did Doug abandon us or take the easy way in his management. As I stated in the beginning. Nothing but high marks for Doug. His Customer Service skills are superior. High knowledge, excellent follow-up, and a desire to help his customer. I would certainly recommend Doug to anyone.

Scot N.

2021-06-29T16:03:53+00:00

Carla P. – Developer

Doug Richards is an experienced real estate market expert who is a joy to work with! He’s a great listener and always keeps his client’s best interests top of mind. He’s a hard worker and will be there every step of the way.

Carla P, Area President, Stanley Martin Homes

2021-06-29T12:46:26+00:00

James K. – Buyer

I met Doug about 2.5 years ago when I just moved to the DC area from NJ. We met on a Saturday and I signed the contract on Monday. Doug asked all the right questions and knew exactly what I needed and made it happen. For most brokers, that’s good enough, but not Doug. He stayed with me for six months as this was new construction. I had numerous issues with design, upgrades, and construction quality. Doug, as the salesperson, stepped in every time and became my advocate. He called, emailed, and texted me right back, even when he was off. After closing, I had a ding in my hardwood floor, and Doug found a matching hardwood plank so I could replace it like new. Nobody does that, but that’s the kind of service you will get from Doug. I’m an executive for a Fortune 200 company and have worked with many salespeople. Doug is a special talent and that rare person who really cares about you. I would highly recommend Doug to find your perfect home and to sell your existing home.

James K.

GET IN TOUCH

Let’s Connect

If you have questions or would like to discuss next steps about buying or selling a home in the DC metro region, reach out!

Contact Doug